RSS

The Moth and the Tomb Raider

23 Aug

The Moth and the Tomb Raider

Alone and cold, I sat in my earthen cell,
shut off from the heartache and pain
I knew the world held—just for me.
And yet, my spirit fluttered to and fro
searching, ever searching
for something I could not explain.
But I was safe…
Until, off in the distance,
I heard echoing footsteps;
as you drew nearer.
You navigated the pitfalls
and hidden traps
I had strewn across these catacombs,
like a seasoned tomb raider,
easily finding the path
to where my heart and soul lay.
And then, a pinprick of light appeared,
breaking the monotony of the black
that surrounded me.
My spirit quickened…
and the light grew the closer you came.
The light of your love, burst into flame
and my spirit, unable to contain
excitement within, flew right to it.
You gathered up my heart,
tucking it into your pocket.
You caressed my soul,
and clasped it around your neck
so its end hung down
right over your heart
and I was home.

You brought me out of that prison
into a world so bright and free.
Gave me love—I never thought I deserved.
Through your persistence,
you showed me all life holds—for us.
And so, now you’re in my every thought,
whether awake or not.
You’ve insinuated yourself
into me…and I’m happy…
for the first time that I can remember.
And now…the fire burns within;
I yearn to learn all that is you.
I desire to discover—your innermost thoughts.
I pray that eternity is long enough
to uncover the complexity of you.

For it was you who rescued me;
and it’s time for us to see
what this true love—was meant to be.

© August 23, 2010 CRF

 
22 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “The Moth and the Tomb Raider

  1. onescoobthree

    August 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    This is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read. Thank you <3<3

    I love the …is it symbolism, or imagery XD Metaphors?

    *Clueless*

    You'll know what I mean.

    You're brilliant and I LoVE YOU!

     
    • falcon1974

      August 23, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      I love you too darling!

      I actually see all three of those forms of writing in there. 😀

       
  2. Nissmech

    August 23, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    This is a very intense and personal write! Knowing who inspired it makes it all the more wonderful!

    So this is your new place not bad!

    I know a good decorator!~ LOL

     
    • falcon1974

      August 24, 2010 at 12:31 am

      Yup…It is my new space Nissmech. I’m still working on getting everything up to speed. 😀

       
  3. Venus Daughter

    August 23, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    And this is love…all the pieces fit.

     
    • falcon1974

      August 24, 2010 at 12:46 am

      Thanks Venus! If this isn’t love, I don’t know what love is. 😀

       
      • Venus Daughter

        August 25, 2010 at 4:59 pm

        Some can call me Al, you can call me Venus 😛
        And you are right, this love poem is incredibly beautiful, my peregrine…I am working on Ruggi’s head to bring him here as well 😉

         
        • falcon1974

          August 25, 2010 at 10:37 pm

          I wasn’t sure which since I thought I remembered you saying you were incognito. 😀

          That would be great if he came over here too. So far I’m really enjoying it here.

           
          • Venus Daughter

            August 26, 2010 at 5:19 am

            It is nice and quiet, I like it and I am very thankful I followed you.

             
            • falcon1974

              August 26, 2010 at 10:28 am

              I’m glad you followed too. It is a nice, quiet, conducive to writing area. 😀

               
  4. Lori

    August 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Craig this was so good, am I right in assuming it was written for a special lady. Today the comment thing came up, it didn’t the other day LO L not a clue as to why

     
    • falcon1974

      August 24, 2010 at 12:30 am

      You are quite correct Lori. It was written for someone very special. 😀

      I’m not sure. I checked the link after you mentioned it and I saw the word comment there. Perhaps it was a temporary glitch?

       
  5. cheryldarr

    August 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Wow! This leaves one breathless. So romantic!

     
    • falcon1974

      August 24, 2010 at 12:26 am

      Thanks Cheryl. It’s great to see you setting up over here. 😀

       
  6. Joleene Naylor

    August 23, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    love the metaphors and imagery in this one 🙂 It’s like Indiana Jones meets um.. Okay, i can’t think of any romantic movies that have happy endings. But if there is one, then that’s it 😉

     
    • falcon1974

      August 24, 2010 at 12:25 am

      LMAO

      Yeah…I was thinking of Tomb Raider meets She’s the One! 😀

      Thanks Jo. They seemed perfect when I thought of those metaphors.

       
  7. Sue

    August 28, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Love the title !
    You captured love – what it should be and most times is not – and a very creative capture too
    I know you read my blog about Sammy and his soul mate but I also did a poem for one of the sites
    but did not blog it
    oh well – lucky woman she is !!!

     
    • Sue

      August 28, 2010 at 10:54 pm

      lets see if photobucket works

       
      • Sue

        August 28, 2010 at 10:55 pm

        guess not … how did someone put a you tube video in then ?

         
        • falcon1974

          August 29, 2010 at 12:26 am

          From what I was told, you just put in the URL of the video, and it posts it. I haven’t tried it myself yet.

           
    • falcon1974

      August 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

      Thanks Sue. The two of us have an ongoing argument over which of us is luckier. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
