RSS

Words Matter

26 Aug

Words Matter

I read your words, and I cringe
horrified by the anger and darkness
that you embrace whole-heartedly,
while you fall back to blaming
your muse for what you write.
Do you not know,
do you not see?
Your muse is you!

You may claim to only want
the light to shine forth,
yet when all you write is dark,
darkness is what you’ll spew!
For you get what you give,
and in the end, it is you
that hurts, while I just shake
my head in sorrow
at your tattered, lost soul.

I read your words, and I laugh
at the blatant hypocrisy you show;
claiming to be all this,
blaming others—for what you do.
Don’t you see,
can’t you realize?
You’re transparent in your lies!

For actions speak louder than words,
and the egotistical you
epitomizes jealousy—covetness.
You see what others are,
and in your desire to be them
transfer your faults,
just so you’ll feel better.
I shake my head in pity
at your delusions of grandeur.

I read my words—and I wonder:
am I falling into the same trap?

© August 26, 2010 CRF

I don’t know, this feels a little rough to me. Still, it is what it is. Just remember, everything we say and do reflects back on us.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Words Matter

  1. onescoobthree

    August 26, 2010 at 2:54 am

    It doesn’t feel rough as I read it, it comes across as intelligent and thoughtful. As well as thought provoking. It’s difficult to watch people like them, makes you wonder how people can be like this, so lost and alone. And the fact that you are questioning yourself at the end there, shows that you can see that the path they are on is not the best one, and seeing that, you can avoid it. They cannot see, so they are stuck. Great job mah Falcon *kisses*

     
    • falcon1974

      August 26, 2010 at 10:32 am

      I guess you make some good points there dear! It is sort of like they are unable to see evil, so in essence they give it free reign? 😀

       
      • onescoobthree

        August 26, 2010 at 2:01 pm

        lol you guess I do *poke*

        It seems to me that they are unable to see the err of their ways, so they chose to do what they do. Giving evil free reign as you say.

        I have nothing against dark writing, it is very cathartic, but when words are used to harm others, as they were, well that is not helping anyone and serves no purpose but to hurt and alienate.

         
        • falcon1974

          August 26, 2010 at 10:11 pm

          yeah. I guess. 😛

          The way I see it, it is being intentionally confrontational.

           
  2. Venus Daughter

    August 26, 2010 at 5:09 am

    Wow!
    I don’t know about rough since everything I read from you seems so perfect to me and the message there is quite awesome and true. We are what we write! Sometimes when it is a task to write some dark pieces or just a need because you got inspired by a thought of something you saw I hesitate but it becomes easier as you practice…now I am afraid to do it 😛
    The last pondering closes perfectly the ideas flowing here. Niceness!

     
    • falcon1974

      August 26, 2010 at 10:31 am

      Thanks Alba. Even as I was writing this, a part of me was wondering if I was doing the same thing. Still, I think the roughness feeling comes to me not normally writing something of this nature.

      I will never say it is wrong to write dark pieces. I’ve written them. I’ve done it to work through my own problems. However, I’ve always, no matter how impossible it felt, also written light pieces to kind of balance the darkness.

       
      • Venus Daughter

        August 27, 2010 at 12:01 am

        One of our friends at MS said to me once that my poetry was a mush pile that made him sick *falls from chair laughing* then I decided to give a try and that’s good, the bad came when the dark was real and I was crying while writing…true story. Now I feel like I don’t want to write dark pieces anymore because I fear it is some kind of prophecy 😛

         
        • falcon1974

          August 27, 2010 at 12:12 am

          Mush pile poetry can be fun to write and read. 😉

          I’ve written my share of dark poetry. In fact, I’ve succumbed to tears while writing them. Still, they helped me purge some really painful memories. I don’t know if writing dark pieces is prophetic, but it certainly doesn’t help one heal if all they ever think and write is dark. 😀

           
  3. Lori

    August 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Craig I really liked this, I think it’s in response to a blog that trashed our dear friend. It saddens me that someone would stoop to that level.Don’t like the drama but like your response. Perhaps you are your own hardest critic, I thought it flowed. If I ever grow up I’d like to be able to write seriously like you

     
    • falcon1974

      August 26, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Thank you Lori. Perhaps it feels rough to me cause I don’t like to perpetuate drama. This actually was in response to a couple of instances. While it may be as you said, I shall never come out and say it. I think it may also have wider meaning when it is not specified. 😀

       
  4. Sue

    August 28, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    I don’t know what you mean by “rough” (though after reading the comments here I understand. No I can’t do drama either)
    Also not sure if this is directed at the Drama Queens on space or just in general
    I liked what you said and how you said it . I liked that was was no rhyme – right? I write and to rhyme and keep the meaning of what I want to express seems impossible

     
    • falcon1974

      August 29, 2010 at 12:27 am

      It had its genesis from a couple different instances. I try not to ‘direct’ it at anyone in particular. That does not really help the situation, in my mind. All it does is egg the other party on.

       
  5. Joleene Naylor

    September 4, 2010 at 3:12 am

    A nice piece to make us all ponder!

    I agree with your comment above that it makes it more universal without it being attached to a particular incident, though of course inquiring minds always want to know, the same as when you hear a song on the radio and wonder what they wrote it about. however, the knowing often takes away from the mystery, and in some cases can completely change the meaning of it in the listener’s eyes.

     
    • falcon1974

      September 4, 2010 at 9:24 pm

      I definitely agree. As readers, we want to know that inspiration, yet once we find it out, we lose any other potential meaning it might have for us. That’s why I try and do it so that people can get out of it what they may. 😀

       
  6. cheryldarr

    October 12, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    It’s true. We are our own muse. Good one, Craig.

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 12:49 am

      We are our own muse…but more specifically, we still have veto power over our muse. 😀

      Thanks Cheryl.

       

Leave a Reply

 
