RSS

Of Hope and Desire (XVIII)

18 Sep

Of Hope and Desire

In contemplation
of the juxtaposition
of who I was…who I am,
and the becoming of a new man.
I cringe at the things
I’ve done and said,
and wonder just what
was going through my head,
when I acted the fool.
It’s not that I didn’t want
to be that man.
I just didn’t know better,
I didn’t understand.
Those actions never
made me what I am.
For I’ve learned…
learned what’s really important;
found love in the beauty of you,
and I know…I want to be
the best that I can.
For everything you are,
and the blessings
you’ve bestowed upon me,
You make me alive;
create in me, a feeling
of belonging—a drive
now exists to return
all that and more to you.
For you deserve love,
compassion, joy and hope.
You gave them to me
and I want to return
the glorious favour.

© September 18, 2010 CRF

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Of Hope and Desire (XVIII)

  1. fallenangel39

    September 18, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Another wonderful poem.I keep enjoying them mor and more.Thanks for posting!!

     
    • falcon1974

      September 18, 2010 at 12:51 pm

      Thanks Fallenangel. I really appreciate it. I seem to have found a well of inspiration lately. 😀

       
  2. onescoobthree

    September 18, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    favour :D:D lol I noticed!!

    I just want to cup your face in my hands, and look into your eyes. I love doing that, I’m smiling. I’ve never seen such love in one’s eyes as I do in yours. And then of course I can’t resist, I must hug you tight and smother you in kisses. We’ve both changed, for the better and it’s awesome!! I Love You!

     
    • falcon1974

      September 18, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      I automatically typed it that way and then I couldn’t go back and change it. I guess I had you on my mind. 😀

      It is awesome. I want to be the best man I can be for you. 😀

       
      • onescoobthree

        September 18, 2010 at 1:00 pm

        You are the best man, lol I keep telling you! lol I understand tho, I want to be the best woman for you. heeee

         
        • falcon1974

          September 19, 2010 at 11:56 pm

          And you certainly are. 😀

           
  3. sue

    September 18, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    I have a defintion somewhere of love – part is – each becoming better people or something like that – no time to hunt for it – to get the best of each other and thus to become better or some such nonsense

    actually reminded me of one of my fav songs – Moments –

    end of babble now

     
    • falcon1974

      September 20, 2010 at 12:03 am

      Thanks Sue…I think that love is at least partially comprised of that. Each strives to be better for the other one. 😀

       
  4. Lori

    September 18, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Glorious write , First Falcon, it will curl LIssa’s toes

     
  5. Ashentury

    September 19, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Aw 🙂

     
  6. Joleene Naylor

    September 24, 2010 at 9:40 am

    “…I cringe at the things
    I’ve done and said,
    and wonder just what
    was going through my head,…”

    I can definitely sympathize with that one. I did a lot of stuff when i was younger that was not so-nice, and I look back now and think, “wow…. I can’t believe I did that!”

     
    • falcon1974

      September 24, 2010 at 10:49 pm

      Thanks Jo. I sometimes still do some things that make me shudder thinking back on them. I can only hope to continue to live and learn. 😀

       
  7. cheryldarr

    October 12, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Beatiful and so loving.

     

Leave a Reply

 
