RSS

Liquid Fears (XIX)

20 Sep

Dragon, by Hokusai.

Image via Wikipedia

Liquid Fears

I awoke one day to a strange sight,
trapped in forever with many a brave knight,
and distressed damsels, seeking a savior
full of valour, to aid her…in her time of need.
For only the truly honourable
can swing a mighty sword
fast enough to slay all their dragons.
Each knight tried…each knight failed,
and their broken bodies littered the field.
Gnawed bones scattered ‘cross the meadow
till all that was left, past knight’s shadows.
Now there is but one—me, a lone warrior
with no experience; all that stands
to fight the mighty lizard.
And fight I must, I slash and I thrust
my sword cuts through scales.
It seems I cannot fail.
So, thrust and slash
steel flashes, blood splashes
and the dragon falls.
I’ve answered the damsels’ calls.

and then I wake up
with a bottle in hand;
glance down—swear
to drink, never again.

© September 19, 2010 CRF

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Liquid Fears (XIX)

  1. Lori

    September 20, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Quite a twist at the end Craig you had me chuckling

     
    • falcon1974

      September 20, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      Thanks Lori. I’m glad I could bring a few chuckles. 😀

       
  2. onescoobthree

    September 20, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    still love this! You did awesome with the challenge words *kisses*

     
  3. sue

    September 21, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    oh – was this for one of the challenges ? I was gonna say – carry on drinking you write good stuff under the influence – hmm no ? oh well

     
    • falcon1974

      September 21, 2010 at 10:57 pm

      Yeah…I wrote this to the word challenge at the pub on Sunday. I ran out of time with work, so I couldn’t write a second poem for the day. 😀

       
  4. Joleene Naylor

    September 24, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Great story poem! Shame it was a dream 😉

     
    • falcon1974

      September 24, 2010 at 10:48 pm

      Thanks Jo, though I’m kinda glad I didn’t have to tackle a ferocious dragon. 😀

       
  5. cheryldarr

    October 12, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    LOL! I love it!

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 12:37 am

      Glad to garner a chuckle. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
