RSS

Upon the Seas (XX)

20 Sep

View from below Point Lonsdale Lighthouse, pas...

Image via Wikipedia

Upon the Seas

I float, watching you there
wading in the shallows.
You seem so comfortable—free,
yet really, your trapped
within your own timidity.
You’re afraid to explore,
to dare the open seas.
So you remain there,
where no challenges exist.
You stay away from life’s
rip-currents, beyond the shoals,
afraid of dangers untold
(which are really glorious to behold).
You limit your experiences,
retard your growth,
and shrivel up
along the cold coast,
while life passes you by
with the dolphins and mackerels.
This life—you could have,
if you just swam out.
But you don’t…
and I watch, as I float off
to distant lands.

© September 20, 2010 CRF

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Upon the Seas (XX)

  1. onescoobthree

    September 20, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    :O I really like this. Profound, yet told in a simplistic way with the water metaphor. *kisses*

     
    • falcon1974

      September 20, 2010 at 9:16 pm

      Thanks dear…I was thinking of water and the ocean today. 😀

       
  2. Lori

    September 20, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Ah Falcon , you described me to a t. I don’t swim out when i should, deeper meaning found in this

     
    • falcon1974

      September 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

      thanks Lori. I think many could relate to the deeper meaning in this one. 😀

       
  3. sue

    September 21, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    as my prof would say – lots of subtext here – though most every poem would have subtext I wonder

     
    • falcon1974

      September 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm

      Thanks Sue. Most poems would have the overt meaning, and then a secondary meaning. Some might have several different meanings. 😀

      I’m glad you liked this.

       
  4. Joleene Naylor

    September 24, 2010 at 9:49 am

    great imagery and metaphors in this one! I also like the picture 🙂

     
    • falcon1974

      September 24, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks Jo. I liked how this one came out too. 😀

       
  5. cheryldarr

    October 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Excellent piece, Craig! I sure wish I could swim!

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 12:47 am

      Thanks Cheryl. It’s been so long that I’ve been swimming outside a pool. It can be such a wonderful experience.

       

Leave a Reply

 
