RSS

Along A Winter’s Gale (XXI)

21 Sep

Along a Winter’s Gale

Restlessly I lay awake,
tossing and turning ‘neath sheets
of burgundy, as the sky
slowly brightened.
You drifted in along the breeze,
or so it seemed, my pulse quickened.
I could feel your breath upon my neck,
tickling—teasing me along
on the edge of consciousness.
I could feel your hands glide
slowly down my sides
seeking purchase,
seeking an entrance,
so that you could slide in.
I could almost taste your tongue,
as it darted into my mouth
urging me to shout.
And yet I didn’t,
I gasped, as my eyes flew open,
and I found myself
shivering alone
with a winter storm
brewing outside.
I cried.

© September 21, 2010 CRF

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Along A Winter’s Gale (XXI)

  1. onescoobthree

    September 21, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    *tears* Aw love, this is so beautiful, and sad. The imagery is breathtaking.
    I miss you. So very much. And I LOVE you, so very much more.

    *kisses*

     
    • falcon1974

      September 21, 2010 at 10:59 pm

      Hey darling! You know you are always on my mind. 😀

       
  2. Lori

    September 22, 2010 at 9:07 am

    You penned the longing and yearning well

     
  3. sue

    September 23, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    yeah I would have cried too – to awaken alone !! – oh wait – I always do – i liked the burgandy sheets tho

     
    • falcon1974

      September 23, 2010 at 11:50 pm

      Thanks Sue. I actually have burgundy sheets. I like them too. 😀

       
  4. cheryldarr

    October 12, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Awww darn. This one certainly jerks the emotions! I was looking for a happy ending!

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 12:55 am

      Sadly, this was one of my few poems where I didn’t have a happy ending. :O

       

Leave a Reply

 
