RSS

The Call (XXIII)

23 Sep

The Call

Late one dark and lonely night
I received a call to my delight.
A voice I hadn’t heard in years,
rang out, it nearly brought me tears.
And though at first it eluded thought,
a name to go along, I caught.
And as I did we rambled on,
our years apart, we caught up on.
And now it seems we’re friends again,
though in truth, we’ve always been.
For though the miles have kept us apart,
here you’ll always be, right in my heart.
Friends we were from the start.
Friends we’ll be till life departs.

© September 23, 2010 CRF

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “The Call (XXIII)

  1. onescoobthree

    September 23, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Awesomesauce darling! I’m so glad you are catching up with your old friend *kisses*

     
  2. lori

    September 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    reminds me of a friend of mine in Pa. We can be apart for long periods of time but we reconnect when talking and it’s like we were never apart. Good write it brought a smile to my face

     
    • falcon1974

      September 23, 2010 at 11:33 pm

      Thanks Lori. It was my old college roommate. It’s been several years since we last talked. 😀

       
  3. sue

    September 23, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    yep that’s the definition of a friend

     
    • falcon1974

      September 23, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      Thanks Sue. I’m glad you liked it. 😀

       
  4. Lori

    September 24, 2010 at 9:34 am

    this brought a smile to my face, reminding of my friend in PA

     
  5. cheryldarr

    October 12, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Wonderful poem, Craig. It’s awesome to get a call from the past sometimes!

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 12:49 am

      It can be great…but then perhaps in the end it turns out to be not quite what you expected.

       

Leave a Reply

 
