RSS

Rainfalls (XXVII)

27 Sep

Rainfalls

I sit listening to the monotonous
tap-tap tapping upon my window;
as it seems to burrow its way
into my subconscious mind.
I wish it would just stop;
leave me be. For I cannot
take this incessant sound;
I cannot handle the dreary
nature of its call.
It reminds me, how time slips
away without warning;
constantly ticking down,
to the day I cease to be;
the day I move on
to the next world.
I don’t want it to happen.
I don’t want to become worm-food;
as I decompose in sacred plots.
Yet that tapping—so much like tick-tock,
it drives me to distraction as
rain-soaked leaves lay rotting.
I know one day that will be me.
I just don’t need the constant
reminder of mortality.

© September 27, 2010 CRF

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Rainfalls (XXVII)

  1. onescoobthree

    September 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Hey I know, put some music on, so you can’t hear the rain! Ha ha yeah *kisses*

     
    • falcon1974

      September 27, 2010 at 6:47 pm

      Now there is a thought. 😀

      Thanks darling. Why didn’t I think of that idea.

       
      • onescoobthree

        September 27, 2010 at 6:58 pm

        It’s entirely my fault. I preoccupy too much of your thoughts 😀 lol

         
        • falcon1974

          September 27, 2010 at 6:59 pm

          uhm…there is no such thing as you preoccupying too much of my thoughts. 😀

           
  2. mantra

    September 27, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Simply dreadful; but beautifully understood.

     
    • falcon1974

      September 28, 2010 at 10:41 pm

      Thanks for stoping by and providing your input Mantra

       
  3. Joleene Naylor

    September 29, 2010 at 5:35 am

    This made me think of something Poe-esque 🙂

     
    • falcon1974

      September 29, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      You know, it sorta does remind me of the Tell-tale Heart and the Raven. 😀

      Thanks Jo.

       
  4. Cheryl Darr

    October 12, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Very powerful Craig. I’ve never looked at rain that way before..

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 12:57 am

      Thanks Cheryl. I guess this was one of my more morbid moments.

       

Leave a Reply

 
