RSS

Copernicus (XXIX)

29 Sep

Nicolaus Copernicus

Image via Wikipedia

Copernicus

What questions lay waiting,
to be answered, as the future unfolds?
Amazing in their simplicity,
as we failed to see the truth,
till it bites us in the  hand;
Copernicus would laugh
were he to see our blindness;
shake his head in sorrow,
as we stumble along,
never finding the answers
that sit right there within our reach;
for fear the establishment
will ridicule us—make us obsolete.

From whence will (s)he be birthed,
the revolutionary of our day and age?
They’ve come, time and time again,
Copernicus, Galileo, Socrates and Newton;
all visionaries, all finders of the truth,
who failed to bow down to popular belief.
Where is the modern-day discoverer?
Where is (s)he who will stand the world
upon its head, and launch us
into a new millennium of discovery?
Where…?

© September 29, 2010 CRF

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Copernicus (XXIX)

  1. onescoobthree

    September 29, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I’m right here :O O_o

    LMAO

    I have often pondered this myself. Very awesomesauce write darlin

    *kisses*

     
    • falcon1974

      September 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm

      ROFLMAO

      Yeah, I know you’re right there! I’m wondering where the new trendsetter is coming from though.

       
  2. Dave Coon

    October 4, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    I think the modern day visionary is you my friend! of course I may be in for runner up spot!

    I keep forgetting you have this site! my bad

     
    • falcon1974

      October 6, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      I think you have me licked as a visionary Dave! I’m just a tiny voice in the sea!

      It’s quite easy…Just click on the subscribe button and it sends you emails whenever I post a blog. 😀

       
  3. Cheryl Darr

    October 12, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Where indeed? Makes one wonder, doesn’t it? Has everything been done that can? Makes me wonder for sure.

     
    • falcon1974

      October 14, 2010 at 1:04 am

      Sadly, I don’t think everything has been done. I just fear that no one is ever going to get around to doing the newer stuff. Thanks Cheryl.

       

Leave a Reply

 
