RSS

Rise of the Naked Empire

14 Nov

Rise of the Naked Empire

Across the land a new dawn has risen,
bringing change to all it touches,
illuminating every nook and cranny,
as the powers that be extol
the gloriousness of the emperor’s new clothes.
Rejoice at the baring of your soul!
Privacy has become a bad word—to be shunned;
for in this new age all know everything
about everyone—we all lay naked
in the glare—bereft of shelter
as we stand with nothing to wear.
And the predators smile—a sardonic
black-toothed grin, saliva dripping
from their maws as they scan the landscape
of potential prey. All the while,
schisms erupt into mighty chasms;
as the indivisible has been shattered
into factions—fully convinced of their truth.
Eternal Optimists—exude hope
that all will be fine.
Infernal Pessimists—cry out
in the wilderness knowing no one listens.
And the disillusioned realist
weeps in the corner
mourning the end of all things.
The Naked Empire has risen!

© November 13, 2010 CRF

 
40 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

40 responses to “Rise of the Naked Empire

  1. Lori

    November 14, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Yea he writes. I finally went over and set up a sit at boomer. Many from MS are showing up there. Hope to see you there

     
    • falcon1974

      November 14, 2010 at 12:34 am

      Thanks Lori. I may end up there. It depends what happens with the blog comments. 😀

       
  2. Lazy Lissa

    November 14, 2010 at 12:29 am

    You have such a mastery of imagery darling, this is so rich in ever corner with images. It begs to be read over and over again.

     
    • falcon1974

      November 14, 2010 at 12:34 am

      Thanks Dear! Just remember to read it every morning. 😀

       
      • Lazy Lissa

        November 14, 2010 at 12:38 am

        As you command

        :O 😛

         
  3. Ronnie

    November 14, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Simply fantastic….and such a true and vivid image.

     
    • falcon1974

      November 15, 2010 at 12:51 am

      Thanks Ronnie. I really appreciate it. 😀

       
  4. Ashley

    November 14, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Loving the imagery! 🙂 Very well written, I really like this one, as well.

    (Have you read Naked Empire by Terry Goodkind, just out of curiosity?)

     
    • falcon1974

      November 15, 2010 at 12:50 am

      Thanks Ashley. I’ve read the entire Sword of Truth series twice. It definitely made me think of that book when I wrote the words, but I thought it also perhaps had a shifted meaning. 😀

      I’m glad you enjoyed this one.

       
      • Ashley

        November 15, 2010 at 4:50 pm

        Nice! I love that series 🙂 I was just curious, considering the title, but I will agree that there are double meanings, and (to me) you completely strayed from a reference into originality 🙂

         
        • falcon1974

          November 15, 2010 at 7:58 pm

          Thanks Ashley. I love that series too.

          I was a little concerned that perhaps I hadn’t strayed far enough. 😀

           
  5. sue

    November 14, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    schisms erupt into mighty chasms
    wonderful line

    the main problem with comments on this site is can’t bold or link pics

    The Boomer site seems very flexible as far as graphics go – I have not created a profile there. I am an extremely lazy person and to need a b-zillion web sites just to visit seems too much

    I concur – this poem ought be read often
    which are you the realist ? or the pessimist ?
    Cheers

     
    • falcon1974

      November 15, 2010 at 12:47 am

      Why can’t you bold in comments? I can…

      As for pictures, I’m sure there is a way, I just can’t figure it out.

      The boomer site still doesn’t have the ability to reply to comments in a logical way. 😀

       
      • Lazy Lissa

        November 15, 2010 at 1:05 am

        let’s see if Lazy Lissa can bold coz i love you. I also read in someone’s blog or something, admin from here or whatever that images cannot be put into comments. tho, i wonder if you can from your dashboard? like you said.

         
        • falcon1974

          November 15, 2010 at 1:28 am

          I’ll try the image thing at some point. I am too lazy to go into my photobucket right now. 😀

           
          • sue

            November 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

            you canjust delete these – takes bold but not colorthis is not red

             
            • falcon1974

              November 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

              I see what you mean Sue. In your own manage comments section (if you have a WordPress page) you have a tool bar that lets you bold, italicize, link, b-quote, draw a line through text, insert, put in an image, underline, overline, and a couple other simple html that I haven’t tried yet. 😀

               
              • Joleene Naylor

                November 18, 2010 at 10:06 pm

                you just bold and italic with the tags, right? I haven’t found the image thing for comments – I need to look into that because I’ve had to just put links in… one thing i have not liked about wordpress.

                 
                • falcon1974

                  November 19, 2010 at 2:04 am

                  The blogger can put them in using the comment reply box through manage comments. Otherwise, in the blog itself, you use the html tags.

                   
        • falcon1974

          November 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

          Trying the image thing now. poking

           
          • falcon1974

            November 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

            So, you can post pictures on your own blog comments. 😀

             
          • sue

            November 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

            can we do that or only you ?

             
            • falcon1974

              November 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm

              It seems like only people that can access the manage comment section can do that Sue. I have yet to see a page that has several moderators, so I’m not sure if that can be done by everyone.

               
              • Joleene Naylor

                November 18, 2010 at 10:07 pm

                ooh.. now I am going to have to go see if I can find where this is at!!

                 
          • Lazy Lissa

            November 21, 2010 at 11:54 am

            That’s one of my firsties! I remember *dances excitedly*

            anyone else tried leaving an image yet?

            let’s see….

             
            • falcon1974

              November 21, 2010 at 11:59 am

              Not that I am aware of, but try using the img tags. 😀

               
              • onescoobthree

                November 21, 2010 at 12:12 pm

                I did, seems to have all disappeared XD

                 
                • falcon1974

                  November 21, 2010 at 12:15 pm

                  yeah…it looks like only the blog moderator can post images. 😦

                   
    • falcon1974

      November 15, 2010 at 4:05 pm

      Oh, and I meant to say that I am probably somewhat of a cross between the realist and the pessimist. 😀

       
  6. Liam

    November 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    so very true and so very sad. i enjoy my privacy which may be the reason why i tend to “rub” so many the wrong way. i think there are just things that shouldnt be discussed in a casual conversation.

     
    • falcon1974

      November 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      I see nothing wrong with enjoying your privacy Liam. I am the same way. Sadly, it seems the world is passing us by. 🙂

       
  7. jeremy1974

    November 16, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Very nice. I have to brush up on my vocabulary. Expanding that really adds to the mystery and imagination.

     
    • falcon1974

      November 17, 2010 at 3:35 am

      Thank you Jeremy. I don’t always use obscure words, but sometimes they feel right.

       
  8. Joleene Naylor

    November 18, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I love this one… Am feeling a lot of it!

     
    • falcon1974

      November 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

      Thanks Jo. I’m really feeling it more and more every day. 😦

       
  9. onescoobthree

    November 21, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    New comment! Let’s see where this lands :O

     
    • falcon1974

      November 21, 2010 at 12:16 pm

      Wow…you landed on the bottom! 😀

       
  10. nissmech

    November 21, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Did I leave a comment here? I thought I had but then where did it fly to? I don’t know

     
    • falcon1974

      November 22, 2010 at 1:28 am

      You left a comment, but on a different poem. Hehe. Thanks Dave.

       

Leave a Reply

 
