RSS

Seasons of Thankfulness ~ Poets Round Table no. 196

26 Nov

The First Thanksgiving, painted by Jean Leon G...

Image via Wikipedia

Seasons of Thankfulness ~ Poets Round Table 196

Every time that I feel, the pain of living
each day, with its overwhelming nature,
I wonder if life is worth surviving.
And yet, I sit and think—and know the cure;
for all around me is beauty so pure.
There’s so much to be thankful for;
so much of what this world is—at its core.

Take a moment, notice the little things;
beauty in a sunset, puppy’s soft kiss,
unstirred silence, then the songbird, he sings.
Quiet and still your soul, else you may miss
all these special things that will bring you bliss.
A gentle heart is a contented heart;
and being thankful is a perfect start.

Majestic mountains that reach to the sky;
or the valleys that are so full of green.
Seeing the beauty in our world—I sigh.
The sound of an eagle’s cry—loud and keen;
deeply thankful for all that I have seen.
Strong winds blow—while the waves crash at the sea.
Everything brings gratitude to me.

Reasons abound to be filled with great cheer:
Each new breath draws life, a new chance to feel
To the fullest, ev’ry day of the year,
The hope that is kindled from a warm meal;
The joy we discover when love is real;
And the peace we can know by holding fast—
Seasons may change, but Thanksgiving will last.

The Thankful Ones:

The Falcon: www.myspace.com/Craig_Fallon
Lissa: www.myspace.com/jarasangel
Judi: www.myspace.com/justjudiagain
Aaron: www.myspace.com/rubbersoul_007

D J Myke: www.myspace.com/jmichaeltodd

The Poets Round Table is a weekly event. If anyone would care to join in the process, just check in with D J Myke.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Seasons of Thankfulness ~ Poets Round Table no. 196

  1. onescoobthree

    November 26, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Pleasure working with you darlin, and everyone else *kisses*

    I love how this came out 😀

     
    • falcon1974

      November 26, 2010 at 1:06 am

      I love how this came out too. The pleasure was all mine darling. 😀

      thanks

       
  2. Ronnie

    November 26, 2010 at 11:01 am

    So beautiful and just what I needed to read at this moment.

     
    • falcon1974

      November 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm

      Thanks Ronnie. I love when I can provide something that a friend needs to read/see at the moment. 😀

       
  3. Sassy Sue

    November 26, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Yeah well – some days the little “puppy kisses” drive me even more crazy
    I gather the round table is similar to a collab ? I ‘ve not checked it out
    Obvioiusly you are still on space.
    The harmony pub is comming to Boomer FYI
    anyway as may be seen I am not my normal perky self at the moment
    Be well Craig

     
    • falcon1974

      November 26, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks Sue. I’m still on the space for the moment. It’s only till I fulfill my obligations.

      I know the Pub is going to Boomer. However, I did not enjoy the way Boomer had their blogs set up so decided it wasn’t for me. I hope y’all enjoy it over there though.

      The Round Table is more than similar to a collab. It is a collab. Several poets get together, the poem is passed around, with each poet adding a stanza. 😀

       
      • Joleene Naylor

        November 27, 2010 at 10:45 pm

        I set up an account there, but I am not thrilled with the blogs. I don;t see that it’s any better than the new MySpace. In the end its going to depend where the readers are, though…

         
        • falcon1974

          November 28, 2010 at 12:08 am

          I had an account there for about a day. The blogs are pretty much the exact same as the new My[_____], with the exception of being able to customize your blog’s look. You are correct about it being where the bloggers/readers go, but I don’t see the point of going to a different site just to deal with the same things.

          WordPress is still my first choice for blogging, though it is more difficult to develop a readership here than the old My[_____]

           
  4. Lori

    November 26, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    This is a wonderful write, so many talented writers to work with, you and Lissa make a great team was happy to see Aaron in it too. Those Legacy writers are just top knotch, no doubt about it

     
    • falcon1974

      November 26, 2010 at 8:33 pm

      Thanks Lori. I am so happy you enjoyed this one. 😀

       
  5. Lisa Kessler

    November 26, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Nice job Falcon!!! 🙂

    How are you liking wordpress so far? I really enjoy it… I’ll add your link to my blog. Hope you’ll add me to yours too… 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Lisa

     
    • falcon1974

      November 28, 2010 at 12:12 am

      Happy Thanksgiving Lisa! I hope you had a great one.

      I really enjoy WordPress, at least in terms of the blogging. It is the closest I’ve found to being like the old MySpace, though it is much more difficult to develop a readership and a friendship simply through this.

      I’m glad you enjoyed this and I shall check out your site. 😀

       
      • Lisa Kessler

        November 28, 2010 at 2:45 am

        I agree, the traffic on wordpress is not nearly as good as MySpace, but maybe if we got our Blogophilia community to venture over we could continue our group and add in new people too…

        Thanks for adding me to your blogroll too! 🙂

        Lisa

         
        • falcon1974

          November 29, 2010 at 1:28 am

          perhaps. Only time will tell in the long run. Honestly, I think it is the best bet for groups like blogophilia.

           
  6. liam

    November 29, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    good post

     

Leave a Reply

 
