RSS

What Will Be, Will Be (Prose Poetry for blogophilia)

03 Dec

What Will Be Will Be

The way we were lies imprinted upon our smokestacks
and townhouses; etched deep within the cornerstone
of our foundries and storefronts. A general feeling—of
what it meant to be…who we were. And yet, we’ve lost
so much of what was…forgotten so much of what it took
to become who we were. We’ve succumbed to the belief
that it is all simply ours for the asking. That which we want,
we shall have…if only we say it.

When did this miasma of insanity slip into our beings?
When did we become envenomed with the seeds–
of our destruction? How did it come to this…
this foolish notion of all is right when desire
outshines common sense, and when wild impulses
over-ride seasoned judgment. And yet…here we are.

It used to be said “Advice is what we ask for
when we realize—albeit for the first time—
that we really don’t know it all.” Now…
do we even know what advice is?
Would we seek it out, in the darkest of days,
or would we continue to believe
in our own omniscience,
and continue the downward spiral
into the destruction of civilization.

© December 2, 2010 CRF

This was written for Blogophilia. Feel free to check out the topic and other fine participants at:

http://www.myspace.com/blogophilia/blog/540985040

 
28 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2010 in poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

28 responses to “What Will Be, Will Be (Prose Poetry for blogophilia)

  1. Lori

    December 3, 2010 at 12:53 am

    Craig as always I read and then get me thinking. Sometimes we think we know that which we don’t! I have missed your writes and teh Sunday Wordplay that you did with Lissa

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 1:05 am

      Thanks Lori. I really appreciate the kind words. In some ways I wish that things could always remain completely the same. Then I realize that sometimes we need to just move on. Otherwise we will become stagnant and fail to grow.

       
  2. Chuck

    December 3, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Pose one of the biggest questions I keep asking myself – when did we become entitled or when did we become so self-centered/me first. I tend to think it became fashionaable in the 80’s. (but not sure that where it began) hope in swings the other direction soon

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      Hey Chuck. I think that it began in the sixties and seventies, though it truly became fashionable in the 80’s. It’s quite sad actually.

       
  3. onescoobthree

    December 3, 2010 at 11:13 am

    You know, I was watching a couple shows last night (before I fell asleep XD ) About the supposed end of the world in two years. I wouldn’t at all be surprised if ‘the end’ came by no cosmic means, but at our own hands. Great write darlin
    oxoxoxo

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:32 pm

      Thanks Dear. Sadly, I believe that a big part of what’s to come will be by our own hands.

       
  4. sue

    December 3, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    ok – as usual I take your intelligent musings in a political vein – just me I guess – and pretty funny since I eschew politics whenever possible – could have sworn “seeds of destruction” was a Bob Dylan tune but guess not

    Yes the world has changed and continues to change as do the people. For ill or for not remains to be seen. And, true too, if we did not change it would be quite boring !!

    Pensive write for a snowing morning

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      Hey Sue. Many of my writes tend to have a political vein to them. I began my blogging with many a political write.

       
  5. UnequivocalKate

    December 3, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I used to be someone who believed that I had the answers when it came to the subject of faith and spirituality. People would ask me to have an open mind. I responded that I didn’t need an open mind because I already knew the truth. I know this isn’t the direction of your blog, at all, but it’s what your blog sparked in me when I got to the end:

    Would we seek it out, in the darkest of days,
    or would we continue to believe
    in our own omniscience

    It makes me sad when people close their minds and choose to believe in their own omniscience. I see it in politics, too, and I fear our country is being destroyed from the inside because of this blind adherence to a political ideal that may be born in altruism (who knows) but is undermining the structure of our country.

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      Hey Kate! I love how you got that out of this write. I can definitely see the way it could go in terms of religious beliefs too. In some ways the closed mindedness of people has led to this. At the same time, the altruistic ideal of being completely open-minded to everything is a dangerous pitfall as well. 😀

       
  6. Ronnie

    December 3, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    So deep and insightful. It actually makes me sad. You have written so wonderfully exactly what many of us ponder on a daily basis; the way we were.

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:25 pm

      Thanks Ronnie…Sometimes the words just come to me. It really saddens me that we are no longer that way. 😀

       
  7. Colleen Breuning

    December 3, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Your poetry always amazes me, Craig. This is fabulous, very thought provoking as usual. I like your twist on the advice thing…. sometimes we do seek out advice, maybe just opinions…. but yet we many times do not follow it. We tend to think we know it all. I find myself turning to the serenity prayer lately. Sometimes the answers come from within after all.

    Excellent Blogophilia! I’m new to WordPress, so if you could send me a FR or add me to your list I’d appreciate it! Have a great weekend! 😉

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:24 pm

      Hey Colleen. That connection came to me yesterday as I was writing it. I was thinking about how in my youth I would always try and do everything without asking others what they thought. I thought I knew it all. Now I realize just how little I really knew. :O

      I’ll certainly swing over, subscribe and add you to my list. I think you will enjoy WordPress. They are potentially the best platform I’ve seen for blogging, though it is a bit more work to develop a community type feel. 😀

       
  8. crazypjs

    December 3, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I love your writings as I think you know, we are of one mind on this. It is sad that as a country we have let those we put in charge dictate to us what we want to hear and never require an results. Let them lead us down a path that has no good out come for anyone, and still the masses follow like sheep. I fear it is to late for us to make a stand for what is best for us as we have let our overseers block any path that would allow us to take back our control, which we have so blindly let slip away in our quest for a better life. Losing sight of the big picture while we stayed focused on just what effected us at the moment, on our little minuet piece of ground, refusing to see how we all fit together as a whole.

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      So very true PJ’s. It does have a broader sense then the one I was thinking. Sadly, I fear it is too late to correct the errors of our ways. 😀

       
  9. liam

    December 3, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    a question i think most not all but most would prob answer with a lie.

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:59 pm

      Sadly, I think you are correct Liam. Very few would tackle this question with complete honesty. 😦

       
  10. Joleene Naylor

    December 3, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Excellent blogophilia post! The words have a lovely melancholy to them 🙂

     
    • falcon1974

      December 3, 2010 at 11:18 pm

      Thanks Jo. I’m not used to writing this style of poetry, so I was a bit nervous.

       
  11. Teine Samoa

    December 4, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Sad to say you are on the right track on all aspects…..

    “the downward spiral
    into the destruction of civilization”

    …. and I fear the worst is yet to come 😦
    The aggressive changes in MS is merely a reflection of the changes to come.

    Great write, Craig!!

    *huggs*
    ~Leta

     
    • falcon1974

      December 4, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      Thanks Leta! I really see it getting much worse as the months and years continue. 😦

      It’s great to see you stopping by.

       
  12. -slj

    December 5, 2010 at 4:20 am

    I’m losing track of whether I comment eher or there…but I am here 🙂 –Steve

     
    • falcon1974

      December 5, 2010 at 12:41 pm

      Hey Steve! It’s great to see you here. I have it set up that once I approve one comment from someone, the rest should be automatically approved. 😀

       
  13. Marvin

    December 6, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    8 points, hope I haven’t been here before

     
    • falcon1974

      December 6, 2010 at 5:51 pm

      Hey Marvin, and thanks. You haven’t been here yet. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
