RSS

The Awakening (blogophilia)

05 Mar

The Awakening

Wandering aimlessly through life
as the half-healed wounds of the past, bleeding
scarlet, fester and break open anew.
These wounds I barely remember
incurring, assault my thoughts
through memories dark and deprived.
These wounds—insomnia inducing—remind
me of all that I lack.

And yet, I kept searching…for something,
someone to make it better, a connection
that would transcend space and time,
place a salve upon this scarlet-tinged
trauma, so that the gashes
upon my psyche disappear—I heal.

I found that in you, a shining beacon
of love and hope. A gentle soul
that gives so much, yet asks so little;
only desiring a confirmation
that your sending of love
has been delivered.
IT HAS—in so many ways
I could never enumerate:
in the soft giggles over a phone line,
in the bombardment of emotes
interspersed with the abbreviated
English of cyber-speech.

I could never mistake your love.
For it has saved me,
from the pain of the past.
It has reminded me
of what life can be.
It has freed me
to live for today,
and desire to reach tomorrow.
And in so doing, it has awoken
the beast—that is my own
passionate love for you.

© March 5, 2011 CRF

 

This has been written for the blogophilia writing group that originated on MySpace and has somewhat continued on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=189737794380779&id=100001851414658

I chose the topic Connections that Can Heal and used bonus options of

1) mention insomnia, 2) include cyberspeech, 3) include confirmation of delivery and 4) use the color scarlet twice.

I promise all are in there, though some are expanded or rearranged in words for poetic license.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2011 in poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

24 responses to “The Awakening (blogophilia)

  1. Lori

    March 5, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    REally good Blogophilia write Craig. I miss that zany group. So glad that Lissa saved you hugs to you both

     
    • falcon1974

      March 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      Thanks Lori. I’m sure I would have survived, but would I really have lived? 😀

       
  2. onescoobthree

    March 5, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Aw love, you’ve left me speechless and teary eyed. You are my own strength and love. My own gentle awakening to light. I love you so very much. *kisses* This is so very beautiful. Not that I’m bias *giggle* I love how you’re not afraid to say things, and yet weave them so poetically and beautifully with the requirements so they sit in there snugly as if meant to be. You amaze me 😀

     
    • falcon1974

      March 5, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Aww Thanks Darling! I’m speechless right now trying to find the words to let you know just how much you mean to me. 😀

      *kisses you back and licks your tears away*

       
  3. Irene Melgoza

    March 5, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Loved this, Craig! I’m glad you decided to post here for one can comment without having a profile. : )

     
    • falcon1974

      March 6, 2011 at 1:27 am

      Thanks Irene. That is part of what has attracted me to WordPress. I love that aspect of it.

       
  4. Sue

    March 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Excellent ! and glad to see you back in the game !

     
    • falcon1974

      March 6, 2011 at 1:26 am

      Thanks Sue. I felt the desire to write this week. Hopefully it will continue. 😀

       
  5. liam

    March 5, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    amazing write ❤

     
  6. Rebecca

    March 5, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    beautifully done. I always love reading your writes-

     
    • falcon1974

      March 6, 2011 at 1:25 am

      Thanks Rebecca. I really appreciate it. 😀

       
  7. Marvin Martian

    March 5, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Yes, we have somewhat continued on FB. It’s good to see you flying high again!! We have missed you. Happy Anniversary!! 8 points, Earthling 😀

     
    • falcon1974

      March 6, 2011 at 1:24 am

      Thanks Marvin. I’ve been in a weird pattern of not having much desire to write. Hopefully that is ending. 😀

       
  8. crazypjs

    March 5, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Very heartfelt and passionate piece. So happy for you both, may it be a long and lasting love ;D

     
    • falcon1974

      March 6, 2011 at 1:23 am

      Thanks crazyp. I really appreciate it. 😀

       
  9. Dave Coon

    March 7, 2011 at 3:40 am

    Even if you have not been writing much, you have not lost your ability! Truly an amazing write that was well worth the wait!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Thanks Dave. I do appreciate it. Sometimes I wonder if I have lost some of my ability though. It worries me that I cant write as prolifically any more. 🙂

       
  10. Chuck

    March 7, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Great to see you doing a blogo – very touching one indeed

     
    • falcon1974

      March 7, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Thanks Chuck. It’s been a bit of a while. I’m glad you enjoyed this one. 😀

       
  11. Joleene Naylor

    March 9, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Fantastic write! 😀 I find it hard a lot of the time to use the prompts in poetry, but you make it look so easy!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 9, 2011 at 11:22 pm

      Thanks Jo. It can be very difficult to get all the prompts into poetry. I’m amazed by those who do it week after week. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
