RSS

Zero Hour (blogophilia v4.2)

08 Mar

Zero stood quietly contemplating as the sun, making its final gasps, inched beneath the horizon. Where moments before a blaze of hues, scarlet foremost, lit the sky, there now existed a weird moment of half-light. Night had finally arrived to end another day of his useless existence.

As long as he could remember, life meant nothing to Zero. Well no, that wasn’t exactly true. He supposed he would pay a peso for his life. It certainly wasn’t worth anything more. As he watched the darkness creep closer, he wondered what it would be like to actually matter.

Nothing he did ever made a difference in this madness the world had slipped into. In fact, he didn’t even think anyone saw him. He may take up space in this world. He may breathe oxygen, thereby actually living. Words sometimes crossed his lips. Through all of this, physics stated he existed, yet in the end did he? No one ever noticed him, instead they kept on walking right past him. No matter the occasion, nor if he even made an attempt at standing out.

That is why he now solely went by the name Zero. He was nothing. He was a zero. He didn’t even remember what name he used to use. It didn’t matter. No one else knew the name either. At least not in connection to him.

Yet tonight was different. There was no single thing that he could point to, but he knew that a change was in the offing. There was something in the air tonight. Something inexplicable that signified…he didn’t know. Hell, the world could be heading for Armageddon right this second. He didn’t believe it was that, but you never knew.

Of course, whatever was to come didn’t necessarily mean he would be noticed. It could mean that he would just cease to exist. Physics might decide, just like the rest of the world, he was not there. What would that be like? He wasn’t sure he wanted to know the answer. In the end, all that mattered was that a change was coming. He had to be ready to face that change. He had to embrace that change, for in his mind it was the only hope he had left.

 

~~~~~

This was written for Blogophilia

https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=192729654081593

 

Blogophilia 2.4 Topic: “Something in the Air

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts):  use a word starting with “Z” three times (we take this to mean the same word three times – NOT three different “Z” words)

(Easy, 1pt): incorporate a type of currency

 

Final date to post: March 15th, 2011 GMT midnight

Final date to post ALL GUESSES: March 12th, 2011 GMT midnight

 

I’ll say SLJ for the topic and Joanie for the picture.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in stories, writing

 

Tags:

24 responses to “Zero Hour (blogophilia v4.2)

  1. onescoobthree

    March 8, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Dang, that poor zero, he is lonesome :O

     
    • falcon1974

      March 8, 2011 at 7:16 pm

      yeah…but no one notices, so it’s sorta difficult to break out of the never-ending loop. 😀

       
  2. sassyspeaks

    March 8, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Excellent story ! Very nice to see you’ve broken out of the straight jacket and into the writing stream again 😀

     
    • falcon1974

      March 8, 2011 at 7:15 pm

      I wouldn’t say I have escaped the straight jacket just yet. Thanks Sue. 😀

       
  3. Lori

    March 8, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Good blogophilia write I like how you described the sun setting. Must admit I felt sorry for your main character. IT’s good to see you writing again my friend, I have missed your writes First Falcon I miss writing for this group so I’ll say hi to all that read this, it’s Sonnet Diva AKA Lori

     
    • falcon1974

      March 8, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      Hey Lori. You could always stop by to grab the writing prompts and then post wherever you want. 😀

      I’m glad you enjoyed the beginning of what is sure to be a huge story. 😀

       
  4. crazypjs

    March 8, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Oh it’s so nice to see you again this week. This looks like the start of something really big.*fingers crossed* I love your stories, they always have such neat twists and turn of events, I never know what is coming until I read it. ; )

     
    • falcon1974

      March 8, 2011 at 10:41 pm

      Yay! I hope I can once again keep you guessing til the end. I always feel like I’m so transparent. 😀

       
  5. Joleene Naylor

    March 9, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Well done! Have missed your blogophilia entries! I hope there is more to come on this one 🙂

     
    • falcon1974

      March 9, 2011 at 11:23 pm

      Thanks again Jo. I hope to be able to continue this, though right now I have no idea what is going to happen to Zero. :O

       
  6. Marvin Martian

    March 10, 2011 at 4:53 am

    *spots Lori* HEY LORI!!! We MISS ya! Do like Falcon says, we’ll look for you!! 🙂

    A most chilling write!! 8 points, Earthling!! 😀

     
    • falcon1974

      March 10, 2011 at 11:41 pm

      Hey Marvin! Hopefully she will see how much people want her back.

       
  7. Jay

    March 12, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Great write, Craig. Poor Zero…maybe one day Zero will turn into a hero!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 12, 2011 at 1:07 am

      Thanks Jay! We can only hope…Of course, Zero will need to make that happen too.

       
  8. DJ Myke

    March 13, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    He is looking for a Zero some gain… Must be patient. Things will get better.

    Nice to read you, Sir. 🙂

     
    • falcon1974

      March 13, 2011 at 11:48 pm

      Hey there Myke! How are you doing? 😀

      Yeah…I’m sure things will get better, but I’m thinking that it will get worse first. :O

       
  9. joaniethewriter

    March 20, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Well now that I have such a big lead, i am glad you are writing weekly again! I did miss having my fellow NE’r close by to poke fun at! lol

    One thing I did miss alot was having you write, even if it was not every week. Glad you are back! And this story is off to an amazing start. nothing done weakly in this weekly tale! Looking forward to hoping to the next segment and hopefully many more!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 21, 2011 at 12:14 am

      Yeah…Hopefully I have finally regained my writing mojo. 😀

       
  10. Dahlia

    March 27, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Oh yay! Another story – I’ve missed them. I can’t wait to see where this one is headed.

    And I immediately thought of this song 😀

    ~ Dahlia 😉

     
    • falcon1974

      March 28, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      awww. I can’t watch the video here. It’s restricted from playback on certain sites. :O

      Thanks though Dahlia! You always think of the bestest best songs. 😀

       
      • Dahlia

        March 28, 2011 at 9:46 pm

        It’s restricted? *stupid video people* It was Zeroes by Bowie 😉

         
        • falcon1974

          March 29, 2011 at 12:09 pm

          They said I could follow it and watch it at YouTube. 😀

           
  11. Irene Melgoza

    May 7, 2011 at 2:28 am

    So this is how it all started! : ) Now I won’t feel so lost. Hmmmm…you’re good, Crag! You already have me wondering if we’ll ever learn Zero’s true name.

     
    • falcon1974

      May 15, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks…but I think the beginning was kinda short and sweet. I think the story developed into more of a viable story as I continued. 😀

      I’m sure I’ll try and lose everyone soon. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
