RSS

This has been a public service announcement (blogophilia v4.4) Zero Hour part 3

26 Mar

He walked all that night and much of the morning, before the wall loomed before him. A huge black granite nightmare, at least 20 feet tall, topped with barbed wire. A solitary gate led through to the other side. No one really knew where the wall came from. It hadn’t existed before the war, yet sometime after, it had appeared fully formed. Taking a deep breath, Zero started for the gate. He didn’t know why he needed to go to the wasteland, but that is what grandfather told him, so that is what he would do. Suddenly a voice rang out.

“Halt! You’ve reached the Oingo Boingo Gate. I’m Oingo…That’s Boingo. This is our gate! If you wish to pass, you must pay the toll.”

Zero stood speechless. Two furry man-like creatures stood in the shadows of the wall, flanking the gate. The wall actually dwarfed their stature, seeing as they were at most three feet tall. Shaking his head in amusement, he responded.

“A toll? To pass through to the Wasteland? You must be insane. Why would anyone pay you to go into the wasteland? You should be charging those that come the other way.”

“Shows how much you know about business, that does! No one in the wasteland has anything to pay with. What would we charge them? An arm? A leg? Actually, that might not be a bad idea. Anywho…back to the toll. Everyone wishing to use our gate must pay a toll. It’s not that much. Do you have any midnight oil? How about some bangles? I really want some bangles.”

“No…I don’t have those…I have a banana. Would that suffice?”

“Bananarama? Banana Republic? Oo…I know monkeys love bananas. Do you have any monkeys?”

“No. All I have is this rotten banana and an Atlas.”

“An Atlas? Is it Atlas Shrugged? I always wanted to read that.”

“No…It says world atlas on it and it has pictures and diagrams.”

“A world atlas Oingo! He has a world atlas. That means we can finally see what Europe and Asia looked like.”

“Shut up you fool! Keep up like that and he will end up only offering us a map of Boston or Kansas. Remember the old saying…take what you can…give nothing back. It is the sign of a shrewd politician.”

“I thought that was the sign of a great thief.”

“Politician, thief, same thing!”

The two began wrestling with each other. Two furry balls, flailing at each other with no sense of anything else. For a brief moment, Zero considered just walking by while they were busy, but he had to admit. They made him smile. It was the first time he smiled in quite a while. He couldn’t just ignore that.

“Hey! I’ll give you the World Atlas and, as a bonus to prove I’m not trying to rip you off, I’ll add in this old map of Chicago. It’s faded and torn, but you can still see some of it.”

Instantly the two were staring at him. Oingo reached out and took the atlas while Boingo, rather greedily, snatched at the map. They stepped aside and gestured for Zero to continue on. Then, almost as an afterthought, Oingo spoke up.

“Here…I guess I should give you this. It’s a map of the area. It will let you know where there is danger.”

Zero looked at the proffered paper. He saw a solid black line bisecting the page, with words written above and below.

“What kind of map is this? All it says is ‘stay here’ below the black line and ‘stay out’ above the black line.”

“Its’ obvious. North of the wall is death. No person in their right mind would go there. Hell, Boingo and I are insane and we won’t go there mate!”

“Well, I have to go, so I guess this won’t really help me. Thank you Oingo. Thank you Boingo. I hope you stay safe.”

With that, Zero turned and continued on towards the wall. With a growing dread, he felt his life slipping away.

“Hey, where’d he go?” Boingo asked his brother. “He was there just a minute ago.”

“I don’t know…but he gave us the atlas…Look…It’s Europe. I always thought it would be beautiful.”

Jaxes sat huddled in the small cage; crammed in with all the other survivors of his little village. Staring sullenly out at his captors, He found his thoughts drifting to Zerosta. Where was the little prick? He must have betrayed them. Otherwise the Others would have stuck him in the cage too. He never would have fought back, so they wouldn’t have killed him.

As he continued to stare out bleakly, he vowed that if he ever saw Zerosta again, he would kill him.

This was written for blogophilia. To join in the fun visit:

https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=197644423590116

Blogophilia 4.4 Topic: “This Has Been a Public Service Announcement

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): Name three bands from the 1980s  * I promise I have at least 10 in there Marvin. 😀

(Easy, 1pt): include the words “take what you can… give nothing back!”

Final date to post: March 29th, 2011 GMT midnight

Final date to post ALL GUESSES: March 26th, 2011 GMT midnight

I will say that DJ Myke provided the topic and that David II gave the picture.

bonus guesses *shadow dancing, pottery, synchronized dancing, leaping, hopping…

 
28 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2011 in stories

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “This has been a public service announcement (blogophilia v4.4) Zero Hour part 3

  1. onescoobthree

    March 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    I laughed, I got worried, you’ve captivated me even more to want this to continue, you rawk!

    *kisses*

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks Darling! Why’d you get worried though? 😀

       
      • onescoobthree

        March 26, 2011 at 12:24 pm

        Death threats *anxious*

         
        • falcon1974

          March 26, 2011 at 12:38 pm

          but you said you started out anxious! That is at the end. Plus…Jaxes might not know what he is talking about. 😀

           
          • onescoobthree

            March 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm

            XD I didn’t say I started out anxious! 😛 so thar *pokes* He can’t know what he’s talking about, he’s just a jerk! :O Or is he …

             
            • falcon1974

              March 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm

              Oops. I guess I misread that. :O Anywho…we don’t know the full story about Jaxes yet. 😀

               
  2. sassyspeaks

    March 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Brilliant ! I’ve been waiting to see your post
    an arm a leg ? lol loved the reference to Atlas Shrugged – I just giggled my way though this
    As Lissa may have mentioned, we have an election going on here – so the saying was perfect !

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      Thanks Sue. I’ve developed a healthy disliking to all politicians lately. I’m glad you enjoyed this one, with all of it’s references.

       
  3. Lori

    March 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    enjoyed the humor your wit is very dry, but sadly true about the politicans. Looking forward to the next chapter. Great blogophilia write, Craig waving hi to the crew

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      Thanks Lori. I’m glad you enjoyed this. 😀

       
  4. joaniethewriter

    March 26, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Another outstanding continuation. Subtle humor here and there… I liked that. I do not like it that Jaxes wants to kill Zero.

    Looking forward to reading beyond the wall…..

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

      Thanks Joanie. The Wasteland will be quite interesting to visit. I’m not sure if I would want to stay there though. 😀

       
  5. crazypjs

    March 26, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    You worked this one well! I knew you would have no problem with it. This Jaxes could turn out to be an interesting fellow before your done. I’m so ready for more of this story!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 9:33 pm

      Thanks PJs…I’m thinking he will be more than we think when all is said and done. 😀

       
  6. Joleene Naylor

    March 26, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Trying this again…

    A humorous installment with some darkness at the end, so all around a great continuation!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm

      Thanks Jo. I hope the humor wasn’t too much. 😀

      I’m glad you enjoyed this one. 😀

       
  7. DJ Myke

    March 26, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Love the humor here. Wonderful dialogue. I was steadily trying to conjure up the images of your characters.

    I certainly enjoyed this, Brother Craig. 🙂

     
    • falcon1974

      March 26, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      Thank you Brother Myke! I guess I have to work on the descriptions. I always thought my dialogue writing was a bit weak. *shrugs*
      😀

       
  8. Marvin Martian

    March 27, 2011 at 10:37 am

    8 points Earthling! 🙂 My mind is going ‘Oingo, Boingo’! Zero is headed towards his doom?

     
    • falcon1974

      March 27, 2011 at 10:58 am

      He’s going to the Dead Man’s Party! leave your body at the door. 😀

      Thanks Marvin.

       
  9. Dahlia

    March 27, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Awww, I rather liked Oingo and Boingo. At least they didn’t taunt Zero with ridiculous accents 😀

    Damn, now that I’m caught up I have to wait until next week to read the next installment? I hate when that happens – lol!

    Zero just needs to repeat to himself that there’s nothing to fear 😉

     
    • falcon1974

      March 28, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      I was going to say the bit ‘except for fear itself’ 😀

      I was thinking of their song “It’s a Dead Man’s Party”

       
  10. Jay Sole

    March 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    I loved this, Craig! So cute and imaginative! Loved the names of the little furry guys…Oingo and Boingo, haha! Well done!

     
    • falcon1974

      March 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

      Thanks Jay! What can I say. It came to me and I loved the way to get that band into the blog. 😀

       
  11. Irene Melgoza

    August 9, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    LOL…you’ve turned what I was thinking as a somewhat horror-type write into a comedy of sorts. Love it!! Kinda like a spoof. : )

     
    • falcon1974

      August 10, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      I wouldn’t say it is a full blown spoof, but It’s definitely more of a fantasy/science fiction story than a horror story. Thanks Irene. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
